Tags

, , , ,

This year, I had a special birthday celebration. It was impromptu the HCMC way. It kicked off during a girls night out with Kim & her Vietnamese women friends. We were were at the Seventeen saloon live pop band bar. On the second round of drinks, I raised my glass and toasted my birthday.

This was the excuse to switch the mood from an uneventful girls night out to a wonderful and memorable celebration. They called in more of their friends to join the party. They organised a cake from “tous les jours”. The 24/7 Korean pastry and bakery chain found everywhere in HCMC. The band sang Happy Birthday in many languages it was hilarious… Unfortunately, they did not sing “sana helwa”!

The best part was the little fire crackers. We played with fire crackers just like during my childhood. It took me back to Baabdate during the summer months celebrating the holy days with bon fires and fire works. Holding two fire crackers in my hands, twisting them and swooshing them around filled my heart with joy.

The party went on for a while. We celebrated like one would with close friends and family. It did not matter that we had just met few minutes before entering this bar.  Thank you everyone… This was a wonderful evening because you are:

3152893r.jpg